​More rain frustrations for South Africa ‘A’


Another rained out match for the South Africa A team.
South Africa ‘A’ suffered more rain frustration in match two of their tour to the United Kingdom after their clash against Derbyshire at the County Ground was washed out on Monday.

Having managed to squeeze in a little over 35 overs in their opening match of the trip against Yorkshire on Saturday, just 20.1 overswere sent down in Derby.

There was, however, some useful batting practice for two of the top three after they hit half-centuries in SA A’s total of 145/1.

Opener Reeza Hendricks top-scored with an unbeaten 68 (65 balls, 9 fours, 1 six), while number three Theunis de Bruyn was not out for a blistering 65 (41 balls, 4 fours, 4 sixes).

The only batsman to fall was Aiden Markram for 11, shortly after the home side had won the toss and opted to field first in a clash that had been initially reduced to 41-overs per sidedue to the inclement weather.
The match was the last warm-up encounter for the visitors before they play host, the England Lions, in the first of three one-dayers starting at Trent Bridge in Nottingham on Thursday.Their month-long tour also comprises of a one-off four-day clash against their English counterparts in late June.

South Africa ‘A’ squad for 50-over series against England Lions:

Reeza Hendricks (bizhub Highveld Lions), Jon Jon Smuts (Warriors), Aiden Markram (Multiply Titans), Temba Bavuma (bizhub Highveld Lions), Theunis de Bruyn (VKB Knights), Khaya Zondo– captain (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Hein Kuhn (Multiply Titans), Jason Smith (Cape Cobras), Mangaliso Mosehle -wk (bizhub Highveld Lions), Sisanda Magala (Warriors), Tabraiz Shamsi (Multiply Titans), Lungisani Ngidi (Multiply Titans), Duanne Olivier (VKB Knights), Junior Dala (Multiply Titans), Dane Paterson (Cape Cobras).
South Africa ‘A’ squad for four-day series against England Lions: Heino Kuhn (Multiply Titans), Aiden Markram- captain (Multiply Titans), Theunis de Bruyn (VKB Knights), Temba Bavuma (bizhub Highveld Lions), Khaya Zondo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Jason Smith (Cape Cobras), Heinrich Klaasen - wk (Multiply Titans), Wiaan Mulder (bizhub Highveld Lions), Rudi Second (VKB Knights), Dane Piedt (Cape Cobras), Lungisani Ngidi (Multiply Titans), Dane Paterson (Cape Cobras), Duanne Olivier (VKB Knights), Junior Dala (Multiply Titans), Beuran Hendricks (Cape Cobras).

Fantasycricketgeek will cover the Eng Lions Vs SA 'A' Odi series commencing 1st June, so make sure you check the team & playing 11 before your opponent does.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here